eWatermark Logo
eWatermark Logo eWatermark Logo
Home Insurance Mitigation All Audiences Events Publications Websites Search About Us Watermark Menu
Monday, 31 August 2015

Recent Articles




NFIP Rating and the Community Rating System


Know Your Line: Be Flood Aware

Upcoming Changes to the NFIP – Recent Flood Insurance Legislation will Affect Subsidized Rates for Pre-FIRM Buildings

Answers to Questions about the National Flood Insurance Program’s Community Rating System (CRS)

States and Communities Work to Coordinate Building Codes and Floodplain Management Ordinances

Flood Insurance Manual:
October 1, 2012

FloodSmart Websites Offer New Resources for FloodSmart Partners and Agents

Disputing Flood Zones

Agency and Company Awards: NFC 2011

The 2011 Awards Ceremony – cosponsored by CNC Catastrophe and National Claims and Torrent Technologies – took place late afternoon on Tuesday, May 3, with Mike Moye serving as master of ceremonies and Ed Connor presenting the awards.

As in years past, numerous awards were given to some very worthy National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) partners from all over the country. In fact, one award – the 2010 NFIP Insurance Agency of the Year Award – was given to three recipients, including the following:

    • Patrice A. Collingwood accepted the award on behalf of her brokerage firm, Marsh, Inc., of San Antonio, TX;

    • Grant Blackwell accepted the award on behalf of his agency, Coastal Insurance of Santa Rosa Beach, FL; and

    • Dan Freudenthal accepted the award on behalf of his agency, CRIO, Inc., of West Palm Beach, FL.

Administrator’s Awards

The next award presented was the Administrator’s Club Award, which recognizes companies that sell and service federally backed flood insurance that have achieved significant growth in new policies. Winners are divided into Groups A through E, with each group representing a policy base threshold.

    • Representing the WYO Company with more than 74,000 policies in force showing the greatest growth in policies, the Group A award went to the United Services Automobile Association.

    • Representing companies with 15,000 to 74,000 policies in force, the Group B award went to American Strategic Insurance Corporation.

    • Representing firms with 5,000 to 15,000 policies in force, the Group C award went to First Community Insurance Company.

    • Representing companies with 1,000 to 5,000 policies in force, the Group D award went to Universal North America Insurance Company.

    • Representing firms with fewer than 1,000 policies in force, the Group E award went to Rural Community Insurance Company.

Rural Community Insurance Company also walked away with this year’s Administrator’s Cup Award, which recognizes the insurance company that had the highest percentage of growth of more than 2,000 policies.

The next award presented was the Administrator’s Quill Award, which recognizes the insurance company writing the highest number of policies within the year regardless of percentage. United Services Automobile Association earned this award at this year’s award ceremony.

FloodSmart and CRS Awards

This year’s NFC marked the second presentation of the FloodSmart Award, which is awarded to the individual who has done the most in his or her community to promote the NFIP, raise awareness of the dangers of flooding, and convince homeowners to protect themselves with flood insurance. This year’s FloodSmart Award winner was Pat Amberg of Port Charlotte and Punta Gorda, Florida.

Finally, Beverly Collings of Grand Forks, North Dakota, won this year’s CRS Award for Excellence, which recognizes a person who has demonstrated leadership in alerting residents to the dangers of flooding and in promoting the purchase of flood insurance through the NFIP.

Aside from the awards themselves, 21 people who recently earned the Associate in National Flood Insurance (ANFI™) designation were recognized. This newly developed accreditation program enables NFIP stakeholders and insurance professionals to demonstrate their specialized knowledge of the NFIP. Although nearly 100 people have completed the program since May 2010, the 21 people recognized on Tuesday, May 3, were those in attendance at this year’s National Flood Conference.

Photos of this year’s winners can be found at http://nfipiservice.com/nfc2011/Post_NFC/awards.html.

Check out FloodSmart.gov! | Last Updated: July 8, 2014
Business Driven Technologies
Readers and Viewers: PDF Viewer | PowerPoint Viewer | Microsoft Word Viewer | Excel Viewer | Apple Quicktime